Help Community
Student Logo

Home - Login - Register - Help

Home - International Students Community
This is online community of international students studying in the USA.
The site where students help students to survive and thrive during their stay in America.
International Students Online

AbroadPlanet Forums -> Help Community Post new topic
Author
Topic
16-Jun-2001 09:39 PM
  Very Important Questions 4 all...
1worried
Hi there,

Im a new student, just got an F-1 visa, and still in my home country. I've just heard like a million things from a million people. Here are some of the questions in my mind at this point:

What would happen to me if I never go to the college and start living as an illegal alien?
If I become illegal, loose status, or never show up at the college, can I never return to my home country again?
What are chances of getting caught by the service people as an illegal and getting deported?
If I become illegal, how and when can I obtain a green card?
Can a student, without any financial support, support himself while studying by doing jobs?
What would be the cost of living in shared apartments and food cost for one month in like NYC?
How easy is it to find an illegal job, what the usual sum you can earn?

please answer as many questions as you can, I know other ppl have very similar questions too...

1worried

17-Jun-2001 01:38 AM
 Re: Very Important Questions 4 all...
me
OK, here I go:

If you never show up at the college you got your I-20 from the student advisor will most likely report you to INS and you will be considered illegal. Note that your advisor doesn't report you you will be out of status and not illegal.

If you are illegal you can return to your home country but you will not be able to return to US for 3 or 10 years (depends how long you overstay), unless you change your passport and assume a different identity (which would be illegal I suppose).