Help Community
Student Logo

Home - Login - Register - Help

Home - International Students Community
This is online community of international students studying in the USA.
The site where students help students to survive and thrive during their stay in America.
International Students Online

AbroadPlanet Forums -> Help Community Post new topic
Author
Topic
06-Nov-2000 11:57 PM
  expired f1 visa
Granodiorite
To whom it may concern:
Dear Sir / madam . I'm a graduate student majoring in geology.I hold an F1 -visa that has been expired since last July. My worse fear comes along when i think of going back to my country and the us embassy denies my application ( God knows why )!
I know , i'm still legal in this country but i'm afraid to get out . Please advise me for further steps !! Is it better to conduct INS in the states or go back to my country ????
Sincerely ,
Granodiorite!

07-Nov-2000 09:01 AM
 Re: expired f1 visa
Well, you don't have to leave merely because of an expired entry visa, but yes, the next time you leave the U.S. (except for trips to Canada, Mexico, or the Caribbean Islands of 30 days or less), you'll have to apply for a new visa somewhere.

Talk to your int'l. student advisor about your options. That's the best person to help you next time you decide to leave. They'll have to sign your I-20 anyway, so be sure they know your entry visa is expired.

08-Nov-2000 09:33 PM
Serge
The previous answer is correct.

Unfortunately you can't get a new visa from the INS, you have to apply at a consulate abroad. It is usually easier then getting your first visa but you are not guaranteed to get it. Your student advisor may know if students from your country had problems reentering US in the past.