Help Community
Student Logo

Home - Login - Register - Help

Home - International Students Community
This is online community of international students studying in the USA.
The site where students help students to survive and thrive during their stay in America.
International Students Online

AbroadPlanet Forums -> Help Community Post new topic
Author
Topic
20-Jul-2000 06:44 PM
  URGENT: Extension of B1/B2 visa status for my younger brother
allan_donald
Hi there and I sincerely hope you can help me out.

I am a graduate student (from India) in the US. My younger brother (14 years old) is here in the US(texas) on a B1/B2 tourist visa. his is a 5 year M Entry visa and the departure date on his I94 is 19th of september,2000. I want him to continue his studies over here. Admission to the high school is no problem, the only thing that worries me is how he can stay longer in the US without any illegal means. The following things concern me:

1. If I apply for an extension using INS Form I-539, will it be granted for sure?

2. suppose I get the extension for 6 months..but what after that? can i reapply?

3. I heard that people go to either canada or mexico for a few days and come back..is this method safe? is the re-entry to US assured?

please help me out and suggest any other alternatives I might deploy.

sincerely
-xyz

20-Jul-2000 11:59 PM
 Re: URGENT: Extension of B1/B2 visa status for my younger brother
Serge
Well, I only know some of the answers.

First, extending a B2 visa for another 6 months is a standard procedure for a lawyer. It shouldn't cost more than $200. If you do it yourself it's more risky (you'll need some official-looking proof of finances and a letter with an explanation, like you want to travel some more). If you use a lawyer it's about 90% success.