Help Community
Student Logo

Home - Login - Register - Help

Home - International Students Community
This is online community of international students studying in the USA.
The site where students help students to survive and thrive during their stay in America.
International Students Online

AbroadPlanet Forums -> Help Community Post new topic
Author
Topic
22-Jul-2002 07:29 PM
  Travel outside the us on OPT
Jay
I am a recent grad and am still looking for a job. I have an interview outside the US but am not sure whether or not I will be allowed to reenter the coutry on my return. My travel docs. include EAD (Valid till May 2003), I-20 (signed by my student advisor valid till the end of the year) and F1 visa valid till June 2003. Any help would be highly appreciated.

22-Jul-2002 09:12 PM
 Re: Travel outside the us on OPT
Juno
1. The EAD is not an authorization to enter the US. And it is written clearly somewhere on it. So forget about that helping you get back. You might as well even not mention it at the entry point.

2. The other documents are what you need the most: the signed I-20 and the valid visa (which i guess should specify "multiple entries"). You I-20 has to be signed (in the back) before you leave the country and that is the most important step that you took --so, you are cleared there. Last thing is to check with you advisor on how long you are legally allowed to be outside of the US, as an F1 student. I have never dared more than a full semester, but you might want to inquire personally. Once confirmed, you can go free; they will let you back in.